Freedom's Frontier NHA

Kansas and Missouri’s National Heritage Area – one of the Nation’s 49 NHAs. Boasts more than 200 sites in 41 counties that tell the nationally significant stories of Shaping the frontier, the Missouri-Kansas Border War, and the enduring struggle for freedom.


Mon-Fri 9am-4pm; closed for New Year's Day, Martin Luther King Day, Memorial Day, Independence Day, Labor Day, Thanksgiving and the day after, Christmas Eve, Day and the day after. Check before visiting to ensure that staff is available if seeking a guided tour.

Contact Information

PO Box 526

200 W 9th St

Lawrence, KS 66044

Phone: 785-856-5300


Location Type


Interpretive Signs

National Register of Historic Places

Site Info

AC / Heating

Group Meeting Room

Group Tours



Water Fountain

Wheel Chair Accessible